SPE Russian Petroleum Technology Award Winners

SPE Russian Petroleum Technology
SPE regional award winners at the SPE Russian Petroleum Technology Conference 2019

The SPE Russian Petroleum Technology Conference attracted more than 670 delegates to Moscow from leading international and regional operating and service companies, research institutes and universities. International delegates hailed from the Middle East, Africa, Asia and the Americas.

Since its launch in 2006, the SPE Russian Petroleum Technology Conference has been growing steadily (even throughout the industry downturn) as it continues to focus on the most relevant issues confronting oil and gas professionals both in Russia and internationally.

For Russia this year, that focus fell on today’s digital transformation of the industry while at the same time, projects involving traditional technologies such as EOR (Enhanced Oil Recovery) were discussed as well.

On Day One of the three day event, SPE announced its 2019 Regional Award winners. SPE’s 2020 President, Shauna Noonan presented the awards at the ceremony following the opening plenary session. Recipients included:

Distinguished Corporate Support Award: Tatneft

Drilling Engineering Award: Kirill Bogatchev, Independent Expert

Formation Evaluation Award: Aleksandr Belousov, Gubkin University

Health, Safety, Security, Environemnt and social Repsonsibility Award: Ilyas Sarybekov, Embamunaigas

Management and Information Award: Aleksey Pustovskikh, Gazprom Neft

Production and Operations Award: Ildar Fayzullin, Gazprom Neft

Projects, Facilities and Construction Award: Myrzakuat Karabalin, Tengizchevroil

Reservoir Description and Dynamics Award: Kok-Thye Lim, Tengizchevroil

Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty: Aleksandr Salnikov, Ukhta State Technical University

Public Service Award: Marat Nurpeissov, KOR Oil Company

Sustainability and Stewardship in the Oil and Gas Industry Award: Richard Howe, North Caspian Operating Company

Youth Member Outstanding Service Award: Ilnur Sayfullin, LUKOIL Uzbekistan Operating Company

Young Member Outstanding Service Award: Aleksandra Khramtseva, Baker Hughes

Regional Service Awards: David Barge, Tengizchevroil, Duncan Mcdougall, Lucent Petroleum LLP, Dmitry Serdyukov, Bearusneft, Zhibek Shaimardan, Shell Kazakhstan

Keynote speakers on Day One included Vyacheslav Kulagin, of the Institute for Energy Studies, Institute of Pricing and Regulation of Natural Monopolies, Higher School of Economics; and Olivier Houze, founder of Kappa. Kulagin’s talk focused on how accurate predictions made 25 years ago for the oil and gas industry proved to be while Houze focused in Global Trends in Digitalisation and Automation.